Entries in funk (66)

Thursday
Aug272015

Dam Funk - Glyde 2nyte (Single & Bonus Tracks)

 The man himself is back at it (of course), with a brand new slew of tracks fronted by the sure hit 'Glyde 2nyte'.  It appears to us that Dam Funk never stops working, so naturally he just keeps releasing more and more original, super funky and soul music.  We commend someone who can work this hard and continue to produce music of the utmost quality.

DAM-FUNK TOUR DATES 2015

Fri, Sep. 4: San Diego - The Casbah 
Sat, Sep. 5: Los Angeles - Teragram Ballroom  
Sun, Sep. 6: San Francisco - The Independent  
Tue, Sep. 8: Portland - Doug Fir  
Thr, Sep. 9: Vancouver, BC - Venue  
Sat, Sep. 12: Jackson, WY - Pink Garter  
Sun, Sep. 13: Salt Lake City - Urban Lounge  
Tue, Sep. 15: Denver - Cervantes  

Thr, Sep. 17: Amman, Jordan - Canvas (*Dam-Funk Solo/DJ) 
Fri, Sep. 18: Dubai, UAE - Majestic Hotel (*Dam-Funk Solo/DJ)

Fri, Oct. 9: Milan, Italy - Biko 
Sat, Oct. 10: Bologna, Italy - Robot Festival 
Tue, Oct. 13: Poznan, Poland - Projekt LAB
Wed, Oct. 14: Warsaw, Poland - Milosc 
Thr, Oct. 15: Sofia, Bulgaria - Reelfeel @ Studio Orpheus 
Fri, Oct. 16: Gent, Belgium - Democrazy @ kerk 
Sat, Oct. 17: Amsterdam - Dance Event @ Disco Dolly (DJ Set) 
Tue, Oct. 20 - London - XOYO 
Thr, Oct. 22: Dublin - Sugar Club 
Fri, Oct. 23: Bristol, UK - Simple Things @ Lantern, Colston Hall 
Sat, Oct. 24: Paris - Bellevilloise 
Sun, Oct. 25: Basel, CH - Kaserne im Exil @ Union 
Wed, Oct. 28: Berlin - Gretchen 
Thr, Oct. 29: Cologne - Roxy 
Fri, Oct. 30: Pandora, Utrecht - Catch
Sat, Oct. 31: Hamburg - Uberjazz Festival

Tus, Nov. 17: Tokyo, Japan - Billboard Live 
Thr, Nov. 19: Osaka, Japan - Billboard Live 

www.stonesthrow.com/damfunk

Thursday
Aug132015

Chromeo 'Old 45s'

 Take a minute and watch this incredible video from the Montreal Funklordz, Chromeo.  This epic tale also features HAIM and Jon Heder (Napolean Dynamite), and the song is one of our favorite Chromeo jams out there.

Tuesday
Aug112015

Madlib presents 'Eternal Broadcaster'

 

 We have no idea how Madlib can make this much music and have it all be so damn good.  Truly a brilliant mind and one of the most prolific to ever do it, everything he puts his mark on is pure gold.  This track is just so funky and dope, you need to hear it for yourself.

Monday
Jul062015

BLACK SCALE x THE RUB!

 

Black Scale and The Rub have collaborated on this new mixtape, and it is a monster! Listen here and enjoy!

 

BLACK SCALE X THE RUB | 2015 (VOL. V)

1. SKYLINE
2. I CAN’T FEEL MY FACE
3. SOMETHING ABOUT YOU
4. HOLDING ON
5. PUSH (MAK & PASTEMAN REMIX)
6. ONE LOVE
7. PAST MEMORIES
8. ELEMENTAL
9. DON’T KILL THE FUN
10. PALM READER (GUTTA REMIX)
11. VERY FIRST BREATH
12. TO B
13. SAVE ME
14. JUST MIGHT BE
15. WAVYBONE

Tuesday
Jun232015

5 Things About Dam-Funk + the new jam "We Continue"

 

 

1. His new record, Invite The Light is out Sept. 4, 2015 on Stones Throw


2. Funk is a way of life for Dam-Funk,  “a feeling of struggle and staying cool through it all.”

 

3. He grew up in Pasadena in the 70s, heavily inspired by the likes of Prince and Egyptian Lover.

 

4. His debut record was a 5LP set in 2009 titled Toeachizown, out on Stones Throw.

 

5. In 2010 he played a record breaking 15 shows at SXSW.
Page 1 ... 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14 Next 5 Entries »