Entries in folk (148)

Wednesday
Jun072017

Jack Cooper: 'North Of Anywhere'

Jack Cooper brings the feeling of early folk and blues on his new song.  'North Of Anywhere' is evocative of rambling roads and life taking unpredictable turns.  It comes from the upcoming album Sandgrown, a tribute to his hometown of Blackpool.  Cooper's unique lyrics and experimental sounds are sure to make for a brilliant album, listen to 'North Of Anywhere' below and preorder the album here.

Thursday
May252017

Louis Schefano - Song For Anthony

 

Louis Schefano's 'Song For Anthony' is a genuinely great folk rock anthem that keeps us coming back and pressing play again and again. He's been around and made lots of music, and this new stuff is a glorious new chapter for Schefano. We think you'll love it:

 

Thursday
May042017

New from Mac Demarco! "One More Love Song" + So Many Tourdates

 

What's not to love about this guy? The infectious personality and super creative and awesome musician Mac Demarco is back after never having left.

He's got a new album ''This Old Dog" and a huge tour starting tomorrow, and this song "One More Love Song" is just wonderful in all of the ways. Enjoy!

 

Pre-Order Digital here: smarturl.it/thisolddog
Pre-Order Physical here: www.omnianmusicgroup.com/products/this-old-dog

Mac DeMarco Tour Dates:
(new shows in bold)
Fri. May 5 – Pioneertown, CA @ Pappy and Harriet’s
Tue. May 9 - Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground Burlington * -- SOLD OUT
Mon. May 10 - Montreal, QB @ Metropolis *
Thu. May 11 - Montreal, QB @ Metropolis * -- SOLD OUT
Fri. May 12 - Toronto, ON @ Danforth Theater -- SOLD OUT
Sat. May. 13 - Toronto, ON @ Danforth Theater * -- SOLD OUT
Sun. May. 14 - Royal Oak, MI @ Royal Oak Music Theatre * -- SOLD OUT
Mon. May. 15 - Cleveland, OH @ House of Blues - Cleveland *
Tue. May. 16 - Chicago, IL @ Vic Theatre * -- SOLD OUT
Wed. May. 17 - Nashville, TN @ Marathon Music Works * -- SOLD OUT
Fri. May. 19 – Sun. May 21 - Gulf Shores, AL @ Hangout Music Festival at Gulf Shores Beach
Sat. May. 20 - Atlanta, GA @ The Tabernacle *
Sun. May. 21 - Asheville, NC @ Highland Brewing Company *
Mon. May. 22 - Pittsburgh, PA @ Mr. Small's Theater * -- SOLD OUT
Tue. May. 23 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club * -- SOLD OUT
Wed. May 24 - Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club * -- SOLD OUT
Fri. May 26 - Allston, MA @ Boston Calling Music Festival at Harvard Athletic Fields
Tue. May 30 - London, UK @ O2 Academy Brixton – SOLD OUT
Wed. May 31 - London, UK @ O2 Academy Brixton -- SOLD OUT
Fri. June 2 - Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Sun. June 4 - New York, NY @ Governor's Ball at Randall's Island Park
Thu. June 15 – Los Angeles, CA @ Hollywood Bowl %
Sat. Aug. 5 - Chicago, IL @ Lollapalooza
Wed. Aug. 9 - Copenhagen, DK @ Den Graa Hal – SOLD OUT
Thu. Aug. 10 - Oslo, NO @ Oya Festival
Fri. Aug. 11 - Gothenburg, SE @ Way Out West
Sun. Aug. 13 - Prague, CZ @ Meet Factory – SOLD OUT
Mon. Aug. 14 - Budapest, HU @ Sziget Festival
Tue. Aug. 15 - Vienna, AT @ Arena
Thu. Aug. 17 – Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop Festival
Fri. Aug. 18 - Biddinghuizen, NE @ Lowlands Festival
Sun. Aug. 20 - Saint Malo, FR @ La Route du Rock
Wed. Aug. 23 - Zurich, CH @ Zurich Open Air Festival
Thu. Aug. 24 – Asolo, IT @ AMA Asolo
Fri. Aug. 25 – Turin, IT @ Todays Festival
Sun. Aug. 27 – Paris, FR @ Rock En Seine
Tue. Aug. 29 - Newcastle, UK @ The Academy -- SOLD OUT
Wed. Aug. 30 - Edinburgh, UK @ Usher Hall
Thu. Aug. 31 – Sun. Sep. 3 – Salisbury, UK @ End of the Road Festival -- HEADLINE
Fri. Sep. 8 - Berkeley, CA @ Greek Theater #
Sat. Sep. 9 - Portland, OR @ Oregon Zoo Amphitheatre #
Sun. Sep. 10 - Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre #
Tue. Sep. 12 - Vancouver, BC @ Vogue Theatre # -- SOLD OUT
Wed. Sep. 13 - Vancouver, BC @ Vogue Theatre #
Thu. Sep. 14 - Spokane, WA @ Knitting Factory #
Fri. Sep. 15 - Missoula, MT @ Wilma Theatre #
Sun. Sep. 17 – St. Paul, MN @ Myth Live Event Center $
Mon. Sep. 18 – Milwaukee, WI @ Eagles Ballroom Club Stage $
Tue. Sep. 19 – Indianapolis, IN @ Farmer’s Bureau Insurance Lawn at White River State Park $
Wed. Sep. 20 – Niagara Falls, NY @ Rapids Theatre $
Mon. Sep. 25 - Durham, NC @ Carolina Theatre #
Tue. Sep. 26 - Athens, GA @ Georgia Theatre #
Wed. Sep. 27 – New Orleans, LA @ Orpheum Theatre #
Fri. Sep. 29 – Houston, TX @ Revention Music Center $
Sat. Sep. 30 – Irving, TX @ Pavilion at The Music Factory $
Sun. Oct. 1 – Austin, TX @ ACL Live at the Moody Theater $
Thu. Oct. 5 – Phoenix, AZ @ Comerica Theatre $
Tue. Nov. 7 - Hamburg, DE @ Grunspan
Wed. Nov. 8 - Berlin, DE @ Astra
Fri. Nov. 10 - Cologne, DE @ Kantine
Sat. Nov. 11 – Lille, FR @ Aeronef
Mon. Nov. 13 – Nantes, FR @ Stereolux
Mon. Nov. 20 – Nottingham, UK @ Rock City Main Hall
Tue. Nov. 21 – Liverpool, UK @ O2 Academy
Wed. Nov. 22 - Dublin, IE @ Vicar Street – SOLD OUT
Fri. Nov. 24 – Glasgow, UK @ Barrowlands
Sat. Nov. 25 – Manchester, UK @ Manchester Academy – SOLD OUT
Wed. Nov. 29 – Utrecht, NL @ TIVOLIVREDENBURG RONDA
Thu. Nov. 30 - Amsterdam, NE @ Paradiso – SOLD OUT
 
* = with Tonstartssbandht
# = with The Garden
% = special guest with Phoenix
$ = co-headline with The Flaming Lips

Tuesday
Apr042017

Brand New Music from Lou Canon 'Who Am I'

 Lou Canon just released this song 'Who Am I' - and it is a breathtakingly beautiful layering of noise and lovely vocals, completed with introspective lyrics that make us feel like we all have something in common. We have so much respect for musicians like Lou Canon who blaze their own trail, and don't emulate whatever's new and trendy.

Monday
Dec192016

Tall Tall Trees presents 'Backroads'

 Written in solitude in Northern Georgia, the third and newest record from Tall Tall Trees is on the way - and it 'Backroads' is any indicator, it's gonna be the best.

Uplifting, honest music with elements of rock and roll and folk and so much more, this is wonderful art that is making our day right now. Enjoy.

Purchase 'Freedays' here: joyfulnoi.se/Freedays