Entries in folk (148)

Friday
Sep152017

Julien Baker presents the amazing 'Appointments'

 

 Julien Baker's voice is out of this world, and her ability to creative wonderful, honest and beautiful music is just jaw dropping. 'Appointments' is laid back and melodic and just glorious. Check this out:

From the new album 'Turn Out the Lights' out October 27th on Matador Records.

Pre-order available now: http://mat-r.co/TurnOutTheLights http://julienbaker.com

Tuesday
Sep052017

Jake Xerxes Fussell – "Have You Ever Seen Peaches Growing on a Sweet Potato Vine?" 

 

 We can't get enough of this optimistic, super fun folk jam from the exceptionally talented Jake Xerxes Fussell. It's an exciting, playful  tune with some seriously rich instrumentation, it's kind of the perfect way to start your day.

Enjoy:

 

 

Buy from label: (LP/CD): www.paradiseofbachelors.com/pob-031
Buy from Bandcamp (all formats): bit.ly/2jBoajv
Buy Digital (MP3/streaming): smarturl.it/PoB031

Jake Xerxes Fussell
What in the Natural World
LP/CD/Digital
PoB-031
Worldwide release date: 3/31/17

www.paradiseofbachelors.com/jake-xerxes-fussell


Tuesday
Aug292017

Brand New! Awesome! "Brother" by The Rural Alberta Advantage

 

This incredible new tune from a favorite band of ours JUST came out, and we are pretty sure that if you are into things that are great, "Brother" will be right up your alley. Make sure you see them on tour! They are INSANE live! Enjoy!

 

Pre-order The RAA's new album, The Wild, including the song Brother now:

In Canada/Europe on limited vinyl and digital at http://hyperurl.co/s3kvi0

In US on limited vinyl and digital at http://www.2lin.cc/TheWild

Buy tickets for the fall tour at theraa.com

Video Handpainted & Produced by Anne Douris 
Last Frame Pictures Inc.

Follow the band on Twitter / Instagram / Facebook @ruralalberta

 

The Rural Alberta Advantage's upcoming tour dates:
Fri Oct 20 St John's, NL @ Club One *
Sat Oct 21 Halifax, NS @ Halifax Pop/MultiPurpose Centre *
Tues Oct 24 Ottawa, ON @ Bronson Centre *
Thurs Oct 26 Waterloo, ON @ Maxwell's *
Thurs Nov 2 Cambridge, MA @ Sinclair *
Fri Nov 3 Brooklyn, NY @ Rough Trade *
Sat Nov 4 NYC, NY @ Bowery Ballroom *
Mon Nov 6 Washington, DC @ Rock n Roll Hotel *
Tue Nov 7 Asheville, NC @ Mothlight *
Wed Nov 8 Atlanta, GA @ The Earl *
Fri Nov 10 Nashville, TN @ The High Watt *
Sat Nov 11 Memphis, TN @ Hi Tone *
Sun Nov 12 Dallas, TX @ Dada *
Mon Nov 13 Austin, TX @ Barracuda *
Thurs Nov 16 Phoenix, AZ @ Valley Bar *
Fri Nov 17 Los Angeles, CA @ Troubadour *
Sat Nov 18 San Francisco, CA @ Great American Hall *
Mon Nov 20 Portland, OR @ Hawthorne Theatre *
Tue Nov 21 Seattle, WA @ Neumos *
Fri Nov 24 Vancouver, BC @ Commodore *
Sat Nov 25 Kelowna, BC @ Kelowna Community Theatre *
Mon Nov 27 Red Deer, AB @ Red Deer Memorial Centre *
Thurs Nov 30 Edmonton, AB @ Union Hall *
Fri Dec 1 Saskatoon, SK @ O'Brians *
Sat Dec 2 Winnipeg, MB @ Pyramid *
Sun Dec 3 Minneapolis, MN @ First Ave *
Wed Dec 6 Toronto, ON @ Danforth Music Hall *
* - with Yukon Blonde

Saturday
Aug192017

PJ Harvey and Ramy Essam - The Camp

 

 This collaboration is beautiful. "I prayed an angel would come, and no angel came," echoes throughout the last few measures, and it only works to solidify how profound and important this music is. The money raised is set to help support displaced children in the Lebanese Bekaa Valley. Help if you can!

 


http://pjharvey.net/
http://ramyessam.net/
#WithRefugees

Artwork by: Semaan Khawam/Giles Duley/Fabrica

 

Friday
Aug112017

Matt Pond PA — Street Squirrels

 

 This new video for Matt Pond PA's chilled out, wonderful tune 'Street Squirrels' is something you will definitely want to enjoy on this beautiful morning, and if you can, see this great band on tour!

 

matt pond PA Tour Dates 

09.21 - Lancaster, PA @ Tellus 360 
09.22 - Jersey City, NJ @ White Eagle Hall (tickets)
09.23 - Hamden, CT @ The Outer Space (tickets)
09.24 - Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s (tickets)
09.25 - Brooklyn, NY @ Brooklyn Night Bazaar (tickets)
09.28 - Cleveland, OH @ Beachland Tavern (tickets)
09.29 - Columbus, OH @ Ace Of Cups (tickets)
09.30 - Louisville, KY @ Zanzabar (tickets)
10.01 - Chicago, IL @ Schubas (tickets)
10.02 - St. Paul, MN @ Turf Club 
10.04 - Davenport, IA @ Raccoon Motel 
10.05 - Iowa City, IA @ The Mill 

10.06 - St. Louis, MO @ The Firebird 
10.07 - Dallas, TX @ Double Wide Bar (tickets)
10.08 - San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger (tickets)
10.09 - Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder (tickets)
10.12 - Atlanta, GA  @ Drunken Unicorn (tickets)
10.13 - Charlotte, NC @ Snug Harbor 
10.14 - Carrboro, NC @ Cat’s Cradle 
Wild Pink supporting from 09.21 thru 09.28 then rejoins the tour on 10.12 
J Fernandez supports  09.29 - 10.09