Makeness Presents: 'Micro Boss'

'Carved' was the first single we shared from the upcoming Temple Works EP from Makeness.  'Micro Boss' is the next one up, and it's just as dope.  Potentially even more so than it's predecessor.  This one is a darker journey into the depths of what dance music can be, both meditative and calming and at the same time profoundly intense.  The title, Temple Works is taken from the name of an old textile mill in Holbeck, where Makeness (aka Kyle Molleson) once recorded a friend's percussion project; G-Bop Orchestra.

Preorder the Temple Works EP now!


More Fire from Alexander Spit

Earlier today Alexander Spit released 3 new tracks on Soundcloud.  Without a word, only the music, album art, and select hashtags he revealed that these aren't from the much anticipated Mansions 3 but remixes by Spit himself.  'i.dont.' is a remix of 702's 'Get It Together', 'Getchu.' is a remix of 'Get You' by Daniel Caesar and Kali Uchis, and 'Likethewestside' is a remix of 'Sunroof' by Boogie.  Listen to all 3 below, and follow Alexander Spit on Twitter, Instagram, and Soundcloud!


TOKiMONSTA ft. Yuna: 'Don't Call Me'

On a Friday full of new releases, the real gem might be this new one from TOKiMONSTA and Yuna.  'Don't Call Me' is one of the coolest beats we've heard in a long time, and Yuna's dreamy vocals perfectly compliment.  "Don't call me no more..." is a sentiment everyone can relate to, and it's expressed emphatically in a way no one else could.  'Don't Call Me' is out now on Young Art Records, available here!


5 Must See Artists @ NXNE Port Lands

5. Caveboy: Saturday 3 pm, Canal Stage

 Kicking off our list of essential performances at NXNE Port Lands is  Montreal's Caveboy.  They've been in the studio working on the follow up to last year's single 'Superbia'.  We caught their show last summer at Osheaga, and loved it.  Based on that experience, and the possibility of hearing some of that new music they've been working on, we just can't miss Caveboy at NXNE.


4. River Tiber: Sunday 6 pm Skyline Stage

This week River Tiber is performing in Spain at the Sonar Festival, and returns home to Toronto to help bring the Port Lands festival to a glorious close on Sunday.  River Tiber is one of the most buzzed about names in music these days, and for good reason.  He's released music with Daniel Caesar, Pusha T, and fellow Port Lands performer Kaytranada.  The album Indigo was released last year, and it's way too good to pass up the chance to hear some of those songs live on a sunny Toronto Sunday.

3. Kaytranada: Saturday 9:30 pm, Skyline Stage

Kaytranada was added to the Port Lands lineup when Tyler the Creator cancelled his performance.  The album 99.9% is still in heavy rotation, and based on his set at Manifesto last summer this is one headline show that cannot be missed.  There's simply no one else who dj's or makes music like Kaytranada, and that unique style and sound is what brings together such a lively, energetic crowd at his shows. 

2. Cold Specks: Friday 6:20 pm, Canal Stage

Last year following Schoolboy Q's headline show at NXNE Port Lands, Cold Specks put on a stunning show at Lee's Palace.  With the new single 'Wild Card' released just today, we're excited to hear the evolution of one of the finest voices in music one year later.  It seems a fitting next step that Cold Specks would taking the stage at the large scale NXNE event.  If 'Wild Card' is the first in a new collection of music, this show could be a chance to hear more...

1. Sleigh Bells: 7:50 pm Skyline Stage

Flashback to 2014 and Sleigh Bells was stealing the show at NXNE with a Wednesday night show at Tattoo, and an appearance at Yonge/Dundas Square the following night.  They were touring in support of the album Bitter Rivals and this time around it's the incredible album Jessica Rabbit.  The duo of Alexis Krauss and Derek Miller have been unstoppable since 2010's Treats was released, and their live show is not to be taken lightly.  This show is an opportunity to see Sleigh Bells live that should not be passed up.

Click here for more information on NXNE, including the full Port Lands lineup and click here to get tickets!


VIDEO: Nick Hook ft. Spank Rock 'Another Way'

Nick Hook released one of the dopest albums we've heard in a long time.  Relationships is a powerfully eclectic, emotional record, and he's just released a new video for one of the most exciting collaborations on it.  Spank Rock joins the New York producer on a tune that could only come from the spirited collaboration of such boldly creative artists.  The video is directed by Nicholas Barat (Fools Gold Records co-founder and DJ Nick Catchdubs) and styled by Kerin Rose Gold. 

Check out Relationships here and read our interview with Nick Hook here!