Previous Mixes:

« Volume 37 - Team Koller | Volume 39 - Flinch »

Volume 38 - Hines Buchanan

Los Angeles based producer, artist, promoter, (the list goes on) Hines Buchanan has just released his first solo album.  Hines has contributed a mix to us in the past (), and was kind enough to send us a link to enjoy what he's been working on more recently.

What we were treated to was an eclectic yet coherent selection of incredibly arranged and very easily enjoyed tunes, mostly instrumental, aside from some well selected and placed vocal samples.  Although rooted in hip hop, Phenomentology is far from limited by any genre constriction, in fact, it successfully journeys outward across genre boundaries and back in an extremely satisfying way to enjoy 52 minutes. 

Friends, take it from us, Hines Buchanan is a genuinely creative and innovative musician, we're sure he would very much appreciate your support.

1. Rearrange the Wind-Hines Buchanan
2. Ain’t No Sunshine-Ken Boothe
3.Chocolate Jesus Beat-Riddlore
4. Room With A View-Rifleman
5. A.M.-Hines Buchanan
6. Buildin-Opio & Equipto
7. Almighty Dollar-Devin The Dude
8. I Didn’t Ask To Come Instrumental-Goodie Mob
9. Yertle The Turtle-Red Hot Chilli Peppers
10. What Do I Wish For-The Chi-Lites
11. The Weight-The Band
12. Too Many People-Paul McCartney and Linda McCartney
13. House Rocking Boogie-Howlin” Wolf
14. Lolita-Aceyalone, Riddlore, Self Jupiter
15. Bonnie & Clyde-Serg Gainsbourg and Brigitte Bardot
16. Lift Off-Hines Buchanan
17. Contact-Hines Buchanan
18. You Need Love Like I Do-Gladys Knight & The Pips
19. I’m A Fool For You-Undisputed Truth
20. Hey Mama-Hines Buchanan
21. Everybody Dance-Chic
22. What’s A Telephone Bill?-Bootsy Collins


Be sure to get your hands on the album.

Grab it up on iTunes here. Or Amazon here.